10. Alexander Povetkin
Like the majority on this list, the Russian only had one fight in 2020 but what an impact he, and that left uppercut of his, made on Dillian Whyte.

dillian whyte vs Alexander Povetkin

9. Petchmanee CP Freshmart
Petchmanee scored three wins before upsetting the long-unbeaten Wanheng Meenayothin for the WBC strawweight title via 12-round decision.

Fighter of the Year

8. Jermell Charlo
Jermell needed a big showing against live underdog Jeison Rosario and he got it, winning in eight rounds to unify the WBC, WBA and IBF 154lb titles.

Jermell Charlo
Amanda Westcott/Showtime

7. Errol Spence Jnr
A triumphant return to dominate Danny Garcia over 12 rounds.

Errol Spence

6. Mairis Briedis
Defeated Yuniel Dorticos to prove he was the best at crusier.

Mairis Briedis
Martin Rose/Bongarts/Getty Images

5. Gervonta Davis
Goodness gracious, what a finish to his excellent matchup with Leo Santa Cruz. The manner in which “Tank” detonated the final left hand bomb was boxing at it’s most skilful – and devastating.

Gervonta Davis

4. Roman Gonzalez
A return to form in 2020 for one of the best fighters of the century. He stopped Kal Yafai in nine rounds to win the WBA super-flyweight belt before beating Israel Gonzalez over 12 rounds.

Roman Gonzalez
Ed Mulholland/Matchroom

3. Canelo Alvarez
For so long it looked like the sport’s premier fighter would not compete in 2020. But he returned in December with one of the best showings of his career to dominate brave Callum Smith.

Canelo Alvarez
Ed Mulholland/Matchroom

2. Tyson Fury
Before Coronavirus took hold of the world, Fury obliterated Deontay Wilder in a stunning Las Vegas exhibition. The manner of his victory was an ominous sign for the rest of the division.

Tyson Fury heavyweights boxing

1. Teofimo Lopez
Hard to look past Lopez when it comes to number one. He shocked almost everyone by cruising through the first eight rounds against Vasiliy Lomachenko, boxing beautifully and brilliantly, before winning a deserved decision to unify the lightweight division. Bravo, Teofimo, just bravo.

Teofimo Lopez fighter of the year


  1. Tyson Fury
  2. Joe Joyce
  3. Lyndon Arthur
  4. Maxi Hughes
  5. Jazza Dickens
  6. Anthony Joshua
  7. Gamal Yafai
  8. Brad Foster
  9. Ted Cheeseman
  10. Conor Benn