Ben Shalom fumes at BBBofC over David Adeleye-Jeamie TKV rematch ruling

BOXXER promoter Ben Shalom has been left gobsmacked after the British Boxing Board of Control ordered an immediate rematch between David Adeleye and Jeamie TKV.

The Boardโ€™s decision arrived just a few days after Adeleye, 14-1 (13 KOs), claimed his British heavyweight crown in highly controversial fashion earlier this month.

As both fighters engaged in a clinch during the sixth round, referee Ron Kearney called โ€˜breakโ€™ before tugging on TKVโ€™s glove, indicating that he was safe to exit.

Sensing an opportunity to capitalise, Adeleye then landed a swift left hook on his defenceless opponentโ€™s chin before stopping him moments later.

Since their contentious encounter, though, it has been brought to light that a refereeโ€™s command of โ€˜breakโ€™ is ever so slightly different to โ€˜stop boxing.โ€™

With โ€˜break,โ€™ both fighters must exit the clinch while, at the same time, following the golden rule of boxing: Protect yourself at all times.

There is, however, a lack of clarity on why Kearney decided to interfere with TKVโ€™s glove after uttering his command.

As a result, the refereeโ€™s performance has certainly raised a few eyebrows, not least regarding his competence, or lack thereof, as an official.

While Kearney is seemingly yet to be brought before the BBBofC to explain his decision, there has indeed been no ramifications of his widely lambasted mistake.

Rather than punishing Kearney, or overturning the result to a no-contest, the Board has simply ordered a rematch between Adeleye and TKV, 8-2 (5 KOs), with the purse bids of which scheduled for May 14.

As TKVโ€™s promoter, Shalom is largely overcome with disbelief, questioning why his fighter has been left with a second loss on his record.

When speaking with Boxing Newsโ€™ Andi Purewal, Shalom said: โ€œIf youโ€™re admitting that there was a mistake, and youโ€™re ordering a rematch, and youโ€™re calling in the referee, how on earth are you letting the result stand?

โ€œFrom everything that Iโ€™ve been told, [the Board has] ordered the rematch and theyโ€™re allowing the result to stand, which is remarkable.

โ€œWe know that it was a foul; we know, really, that it was technically a disqualification; we know it shouldโ€™ve been a no-contest at the very least, so why not just have the balls to do it?โ€

Share Page