THE British Boxing Board of Control presented its annual awards on Friday (September 29) at the Landmark hotel in London for the 2016-2017 season.

Unified IBF and WBA heavyweight champion Anthony Joshua won the prize for Boxer of Year. Shortlisted were George Groves, Tony Bellew, Terry Flanagan, Kal Yafai and Lee Selby. McCracken also received the Dennie Mancini Trophy.

The coveted Boxing News Trainer of the Year prize went to Rob McCracken, out of an extremely competitive field featuring Adam Booth, Tony Borg, Dave Coldwell and Shane McGuigan.

Joshua’s rumble with Wladimir Klitschko, in which both men hit the deck before the Briton halted Klitschko in the 11th round, was Fight of the Year. The other shortlisted contests were Frank Buglioni versus Hosea Burton, Dillian Whyte versus Dereck Chisora, Liam Smith versus Liam Williams and Darryl Williams versus Jahmaine Smyle I.

British Boxing Board of Control

Errol Spence won Overseas Boxer of the Year for dethroning Kell Brook in Sheffield. Also on the shortlist were Gervonta Davis, Jorge Linares and Gennady Golovkin.

Great trainer Jimmy Tibbs received a special recognition award on his retirement.